The Chapel of the Transfiguration is a small log chapel in Grand Teton National Park, in the community of Moose.
The chapel was sited and built to frame a view of the Cathedral Group of peaks in a large window behind the altar.The chapel was built in 1925 and is owned and operated by St. John’s Episcopal Church in Jackson.
The first discussion of having a possible chapel in the area was made in 1920 around a campfire by a group of summer campers, headed by Dr. George Woodward of Chestnut Hill, Penn.
Mrs. Woodward thought it long and tiresome to attend church in Jackson, some 12 miles distant. Her wish was that a chapel could be built at Menor’s Ferry, the center of the “Dude Ranch” of the day. A friend of hers, Maude Noble, eventually donated the land where the chapel now sits.
The bell in the bowery outside the chapel, which visitors can ring, was cast in 1842 and was originally used in the St. Barnadas Church in Irvington, N.Y.
Categories: On The Square